Food

Christmas with Pastor Yvonne

Greetings in the Mighty name of Jesus Christ, our ‘Reason for the Season’.

In a few days my family and I will celebrate the birth of our saviour Jesus Christ. We will remember that He was born for the single purpose of redeeming us of our sins. We will attend church to offer Him worship and thanks, knowing that it is only through His grace that we have life today. We will enjoy fellowship with our brothers and sisters and we will……eat, eat, eat and eat some more!

This year I want to share my Christmas with you all, so over the next three days will be taking you through a traditional Brooks Christmas.

Our menu on Christmas Day will be:

Breakfast – Ackee a

nd Saltfish with Fried Dumplings, Hardo Bread and Hot Chocolate

Starter – Pumpkin Soup and Pigs in Blankets

Main – Turkey Breast with Rice and Peas, Roast Potatoes, Cornbread, Candied Sweet Potatoes, Brussel Sprouts, Baby Carrots, Mashed Swede and Sweetcorn.

Dessert – Christmas Pudding and Trifle

I have completed my shopping and today began preparing the food for Christmas Day.

My Turkey Breast bought from the same butcher for the past thirty years. (I am very big on tradition!), has been washed and dried. After being poked and seasoned with black pepper, sea salt and garlic it will now marinate overnight, before being cooked tomorrow.

Read on tomorrow to find out how our final preparations are going.

Yours in Christ

Yvonne Brooks

Leave a comment