Articles

THE CHANGE – All That Gilters and Shines

Hi all welcome to the first installment of our blog “The change” over time we will go into detail about the various changes we go through as women whether it be mentally physically emotionally or financially we will be tackling it all head on.

Change comes whether we plan it or not. It’s an inevitable part of our process so we hope this blog will make your life easier with each transition that comes.  Here is a short introduction from my fellow writer Yvonne Brooks.

I am fifty five years old and still peri-menopausal . I have called this blog the change not just because I am in the change but because I have found that life is full of constant changes, not just on one level but every layer of life. My taste has changed both for food stuff and in my choice of clothes. The shape of my body, the texture of my hair, my skin nothing is left unchanged.
My background is that I am a human being, with experience as a Mental Health Nurse for 27 years, a wife, mother sister daughter. Now I am working as a Pastor in a growing church in Birmingham. I am number five of eight children and have been married for thirty four and a half years, have three children two of whom are married, and one grand daughter. I am the main carer for my mum who is nearly ninety years old. One thing I can tell you is that life is far from boring.
My aim is to try and share some of my journey with you in the hope that it will be helpful and informative or at the least humorous.
My fellow writer, Trevean is going to supply you with tips and information on current thoughts, ideas and trends to help you look and feel good everyday regardless of what changes may occur.
I will give you a little insight into who I am further into to the blog but lets get down to business: FASHION

So Christmas is upon us and it’s a none stop party fest whether it be work do’s meeting up with friends or seeing family you need to have multiple outfits so I will help you get the look for less.  Showing you how to team up your current clothes with what’s on trend so that its not costing you an arm and a leg.

I can only describe this seasons trends as super glam, the hot colour is black with sequins, chains, metallic, glitter and lace being the must haves.  Ladies this is good news for all ages and shapes as  black is the color mostly worn in the winter and deemed the colour for dressing up. It’s just makes it so easy to look  glamorous effortlessly.

Emerald Women =  20s – Sapphire Women =30s

This dress can be worn with a pair of killer heels for the younger woman and the 30 plus can team this with a pair of tights and jacket keeping the accessories simple and clean

https://i0.wp.com/www.fabuloussavings.co.uk/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/black-dress.jpg
Golden Women = 40s  – Diamond Women 50s

This is a great shape and colour jacket that will make a loud enough statement without being to in your face and can hide a multitude this will sit great over a simple black dress

 

https://i0.wp.com/cdni.condenast.co.uk/320x480/d_f/FFSparklyJacket_GL_5mar09_pr_b.JPG

 

Platinum Women 60s – Rubie Women 70s

Accessories are a great way of staying on trend you can team these pieces with most clothes, black and nude will look super classic.

https://i0.wp.com/www3.images.coolspotters.com/photos/230155/christian-louboutin-no-prive-mini-glitter-shoe-gallery.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/www.anyahindmarch.com/resources/images/products/43264/main/7a5aae425a134ed1bdbaaeebb0ed3f40.jpg

First things first what shape are you? This is where most women are going wrong not knowing which one you are so here are a few pictures to illustrate and help you on your way.

Pear is typically narrow on top and fuller in the hips and thighs. Proportionally the hips are wider than the shoulders.

Inverted Triangle, proportionally large bust and/ or broad shoulders ​narrow hips and slim legs.

Rectangle, bustline and hipline measurements are equal, with little or no definition to the waist. Proportionately slim legs and arms, the appearance of having no hips.

Apple,  an overall round appearance, with and undefined waistline and wide hips and full thighs you may have a large low sitting stomach.

Hourglass, bustline and hip-line measurements are equal, with a well-defined waist, typically the top and bottom halves of your body are equal.

https://i0.wp.com/1.bp.blogspot.com/-LNB-UtnoKyw/TrHOcTKSMdI/AAAAAAAAALI/ca5atf4082g/s1600/body-shapes-sketch-for-blog.jpg

Celebrities are always thought of or sold as having an hourglass body shape but this is not so they just have great stylists who embrace the shape they are styling and create great illusion.

https://i0.wp.com/cdn.sheknows.com/articles/2011/03/celebrities-with-different-body-types.jpg

THE SHIFT DRESS

One dress I can advise you of that is great for all is the shift dress and they are easy to get your hands on.  They are all over the high street and come in great fabrics.  Sleeves to sleeveless and slight variations on the neckline, which makes it so wearable for everyone and can be teamed with great accessories.

Here are a few words on the black dress from Yvonne

 
I see so many parallels to the little black dress being a stable in our wardrobe around which we can build an entire look, and the way we need to have balance as the launching pads for our lives.
Where does this balance come from and how do we get it?
Well I am glad you asked as I have been thinking about this.
Living life is an art form.  When ever we see some who is an expert practice their art, it usually looks so easy that you almost begin to believe that you could do what they are doing. This is as a result of years of practice, getting it wrong making adjustment and finally coming to the knowledge of what works. But what is it that inspires and motivates you to keep on experimenting, believing in yourself and what you are doing?
For me my faith in God is that thing that keeps me going even when I feel like giving up.
In First Corinthians 13 faith is described as one of the three greatest things that exist. Love is the greatest of all but I will talk about that another time, Faith is the quality I want to focus on. You may say well I am not religious etc but I discover that even the simple act of sitting on a char involves faith. If you didn't believe that chair would hold your weight and that you would end up on the floor you would never make the attempt to sit down.
 Another example  is the use of traffic signals. If you had no faith you would not go through even when the signal was green because you would not believe it was safe to do so.
Faith is the quality that makes you get out of bed in the morning to face the day. It causes you to gather your resources together for another try when all your instincts are saying give up. Like that little black dress faith becomes your fall back position.
My little black dress has rescued me so many times in the last 10 years since I have started going through the change. The colour has hidden a multitude of ills and has boosted my confidence in so many ways.

https://i0.wp.com/www.planet.co.uk/wcsstore7.00.00.585/ExtendedSitesCatalogAssetStore/images/products/large/030_015845_11.jpg

Tune in, in the next week or so and I will show you how to make the shift dress work for your body type and how this dress will work for any age.

Leave a comment